Posted by: flat_bob | February 18, 2009

Here we go again, slowly…

dsc00057

I think  I should start my first blog of the year by saying how much I’ve enjoyed reading other gardening blogs over the winter period. Winter is a lean time for growing, so I have appreciated the creativity of the winter garden blogger. I want to mention WeedyBeanz, Veg Plot and Our patch of earth in particular for keeping a lapsed allotmenteer entertained. (Oh, and kudos to Google Reader for keeping tabs on all the bloggers – if you’re not using Reader, you should!)

My allotment association now has a website. According to it I should be spending 6 to 8 hours a week on my plot. In fact today was the first day I’ve been to the allotment since before Christmas. Still the allotment looks no worse than most of the other plots. What exactly should I be doing for 6 to 8 hours a week in winter?

Maybe the 6 to 8 hours is actually meant for daydreaming. Planning the coming year. I’ve been doing that recently and, from the plans in my head, this year should be the best so far. It’s agreed that this summer will be long and hot, not a flood in sight. And the frosts will have killed all of the soil beasties so I can grow my vegetables with impunity. In my head, at least, that is how it will pan out.

In reality the plot is a mess and needs a lot doing to it. It’s still too miserable (and wet) to get out and dig, so today I just made a mental list of jobs that need doing. And I took a photo of the Sprouting Broccoli!

dsc00095

So this is it. Start of the new gardening year. I’ll be getting my potatoes and onion sets later on this week, and putting my plans on paper. For now though, you’ll have to make do with with a photo of my bulbs last week as the frost started to thaw. I think this image captures the feeling of this time of year – the plants want to get going, we want to get going. I just hope the winter gets going soon.

Responses

  1. The 6-8 hours is a guide so that people who are new to allotments know just how much time and effort it can take. That is why it’s listed in the Rough Guide along with pointing out that it will cost people money, etc.

    I’ll be adding a link to your blog and if you’ve got anything you’d like to add to the Association website then just let me know.

    • You’re right! The 6 to 8 hours is reasonable for new allotmenteers, especially if they are taking over a disused plot (like mine was), and of course during the spring and summer. The 6-8 hours comment was a flippant remark used as a stimulus for a post and I didn’t mean to infer that it was in any way wrong. It also handily allowed me to link to the website! Thanks for the reciprocal link.


Leave a Reply

Categories

